jump to navigation

Shirley’s Closet October 15, 2008

Posted by Ageless Dreamer Foundation in Ageless Dreamers and Dreams.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

The call came at 10:47 p.m. Yes, when the phone rings that late at night I look at the clock. My eldest, dearest girlfriend, Shirley Lampke called it a day, a night, a life.  She was one classy lady right up until the last 60 days when congestive heart failure, among other life sucking ailments,  took control. I won’t go into the details.

What I want to say to anyone listening is what author Elizabeth Coatsworth wrote, and what Ageless Dreamer has been given written permission to use: When I dream I am ageless. 

Shirley, born 1921, always had a twinkle in her eye and a skip in her stylish step. When it was decided that it was time for her to move from her assisted living apartment to Paloma, I was asked, as Shirley’s friend, to go into her closet and pick out the clothes she wore most and move the rest on to the resale place.  I got carried away, of course, and ended up bringing a full closet and a half to our home…so that Shirley would have clothes to wear in whatever season there was.  I would  now be Shirley’s closet.    Her wonderful, adoring adult children have just learned that I have a full closet and a half of Shirley’s wonderful, coordinated outfits. It’s Shirley out loud. Now what?

Shirley gave me the magic of the essence of being alive. Her smile was her calling card. Inspiration. It mattered not her age, she shopped Chico’s or any brand that suited her petite body.  And shoes? Well, this Lady willed a most wonderful pair of shoes and a very favorite, fabulous belt to me.  I know she knows I’m wearing them at the National Publicity Summit next week in NYC.  She’ll be there with me calming my butterflies.  Sleep well, girlfriend. Be at peace knowing that Ageless Dreamer lives and will grow stronger because of your influence.  I love you.  I miss you already.  Thank you for putting up with all my chatter about dreaming outloud.  I can only hope that I made some of your dreams come true.

Sommer, Shirley & Laurie - August 2007
Sommer, Shirley & Laurie – August 2007

 

Copyright 2008 Laurie Widmark

Comments»

1. George Schlosser - October 15, 2008

Thank you for that really sweet tribute to my grandmother!

2. Regina Mondoux - October 30, 2008

“Keep dreaming outloud, girlfriend! The dream is ageless!”

3. Laurie Widmark - October 31, 2008

Re, thanks for the encouragement! The Christmas Dream parade in Rochester, NH wouldn’t be complete without Dunkin Donuts dreaming out loud with Ageless Dreamer. Let’s design that float!

4. Donna Bohon - November 2, 2008

I am very proud of you, little sister, and all your dreams!


Leave a Reply

